BoringYetGraceful

weblog

Everyone of us have the same 24 hours and yet some ask for more, especially for those who are chasing their dead lines and everything in between in regards of life.

For a voracious or for an addicted reader the back log of “to read” compiled already against the time needed to read them can be a quite hurdle and I'm already hitting on it so loud.

Beginnings

Years ago I do randomly read books. You can count it on your fingers, some I'd finish, some doesn't but in the end I do forget them whether its non-fiction or fiction. One of my memorable read was the Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis, I sided loaded it in my Kobo Glo while reading in the hospital and able to finish it with tears in my eyes.

I also read some Makoto Shinkai's novel based from his animated movies from the past years, I just got curious if there's a difference between the movie and the novel.

Self-Help Me

The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck is a good read, the writer put spicy words to pitch his message but all I can say it's just the same message overall like the other self-help or personal development authors.

Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance by Angela Duckworth. I already forgot but it's already in the word itself. Hard workers with better alignment in their goal can achieve things.

Knowing God and the Sweetness of Christ

Around 2019, I did a change of menu to Christian authors, was able to read some books of Ravi Zacharias, Paul David Tripp, Jerry Bridges, Timothy Keller, Max Lucado and many more. This was my start again to burn my kilay to some Christian authors which I also did back in highschool.

That continue when the pandemic was started by some people during 2020. I did pick up and read, Paul Washer, J. C. Ryle, J. I. Packer and Michael Horton. Some are heavy book, some are heavy booklets. When I say heavy because of their theological content. I loved Thomas Watson's All Things For Good but not able to finish it.

I'm Turning Japanese, Watashi-desuka?

Then half-way of 2020, the weeb was reborn. I don't regret it, it just fuel the fire for me to read more. The author change to a Japanese menu. Reki Kawahara, Nisioisin, Tappei Nagatsuki and a ton of JP light novel author. The current series I was able to finish is A Certain Magical Index that have 22 volumes. It was a 6-month read. Most of Japanese light novel are still on-going (50+ volumes), running since 2009. By the end 2021, I read 104 volumes for about of 30+ titles. As of writing I'm on a 50+ LN volumes read. It's a quite feat. Someone buy me those Banner of Truth multiple volumes!

The manga is not included here.

A Change of Seasoning with Multiple Flavors

As of writing, I'm reading some titles from those different flavors above but no self-help one, I'm thinking Atomic Habits would be good but I'll read it for another day as I want to plan things to read for next year. My interest to read classics and fantasy books (not light novels but novels) is getting high, but I would not touch the known ones that already had their box office in the motion picture media.

Any book recommendation?

#weblog

A Progress

Look at that! I'm now in the 20th chapter and I don't know if things still make sense ever since the genesis of this blog. I hope you did enjoy those love advise that made you cringe and ask what this guy is talking about better to seek help from doctors, whatever.

One thing I was thinking about while running this tiny world is the financial aspect. Should I continue or not? Am I being creative or not? I want to write continuously per day para naman masulit ko yung $9 pero mukhang di ko talaga kaya once my creative mind passed out in the gutter.

This would be the last time I'll use the #weblog title and doing a sub-title para mas epic sakin anong iisipin ko na title, pambihira. The long titles are inspired by some Japanese light novels series that have almost a paragraph title and it's already the plot of the series itself.

One good example is my favorite, since I picked it up last December 2020. The series titled “The Cursed Prince Wants To Marry The Immortal Witch – She Can't Lift My Curse So Now I Have One Year To Make Her Fall For Me?!”, also known as Unnamed Memory which is the real title. It has 6 volumes of novel, already read 5 of it and currently running 3 manga volumes. The weeb mode was turned-on, I'm sorry, gomenasai!...but it's worth checking if you're into fantasy romance, yung My Happy Marriage maganda din! The novel series is now adapted to manga, anime, and live-action drama! STOP

That would be enough for the day, but it's already midnight as of writing and it's raining. I hope for all those who read my stuff. I hope you well and have blessed day. Thanks!

The Weeb Inside?

Weeb means a derisive term for a non-Japanese person who is so obsessed with Japanese culture that they wish they were actually Japanese. Arigato Google-san.

History

I started watching anime during my childhood days, thanks to the local TV networks. Back then there was no Netflix, Bilibili, Funimation, Crunchyroll or Youtube but they landed here. Voltes V became part of the Filipino culture.

The latter years of my grades school was the peak of it's time, like Ghost Fighter and Flame of Recca...as well Pokemon too, pero hindi ako gaano na-addict doon. I also skip church when Let's and Go was aired during Sundays. The anime consumption ended when I graduated and entered high school.

I also used to draw a lot back then, it also stopped due to frustration of I can't draw what I see...and I shifted the interested in other things. I don't regret it.

Revival

2020 lockdowns triggered to watched again some shows instead of endless boring K-dramas which I also did from the past years. It all started with Haruhi Suzumiya and the rest is history. That year, I still read some good books, and the focus shifted to light novels and mangas. I also tried reading visual novels but it was not for me.

Different Paths

It's really a different path but part of it is my interest in the JP culture and I already decide not to study Japanese. I cannot find the joy and lately medyo nauumay na ako and searching for a new path that supposed to be I was there.

This is just a quick log.

#weblog

Cough And Cupcakes

written in Taglish

There was a time in my life after eating the well known Filipino brand cupcake for kids as a baon in school. I had a cough because of it. Due to my poor immune system the cough had a phlegm and it's a green one.

Nabilaukan lang naman ako, walang tubig na nabigay sakin agad, kasi naglalaro kami noon sa kalsada. How can I forgot that one. After recovering from a fever, I was able to go to school. Guess what? I have no voice due to the phlegm.

By the way, this cycle happened except there's no cupcakes involved. I was force to have a physical exertion, to train my lungs.

I still remember I had a fever during highschool, and I hate it. What I did is I go to a ride. Weared the normal cycling outfit like what you see in LeTour except no helmets and out I go to the road. During that steep climb at Daang Kuba, something dripping from my nose to the handle bar and got stick to my hand gloves.

I'm laughing, coughing and exhausted once I got home. The next few days, the cough is gone.

#weblog

Sa Kabilang Dako

Ang buhay ng tao parang gulong. Minsan nasa taas, minsan nasa baba. Yung iba, walang gulong, kaya nagulungan na lang. Yung gulong ng palad naging nagulungang palad na. Tapos traksikel pa nakadali, eh plat pa? Nadali na.

Ano ba pakiramdam ng kaning lamig na naitsapwera na, kasi may bagong saing na eh? Sinong ba titira ng bahaw na matigas? Kasi pag nilagay mo naman sa ibabaw ng bagong saing baka mapanis agad. Di bale na lang kung yung bahaw eh kagabi o kanina lang sinaing at naka-fridge siya.

Unang baitang pa lang yung kaning lamig. Susunod doon eh yung para ka na lang hangin. Trahedya sa lahat yun. Pinilit mong makarating, dumaong ka naman pero walang tauspusong tumanggap sayo. Hangin ka nga.

Siguro maglokohan na lang ta'yo ne?

#weblog

Today

Finished Part 1 of When God Writes Your Love Story. Back when I read this book when I was 15 y/o, it's an eye opener. Ang cool lang. Big bro even wrote his thesis titled “Teenage Romance, A Premature Intimacy” back in his Bible school days. Wala pa BWPH, nananampal na sya ng cactus noon.

Fast forward, here I am 32 y/o, things in romance and stuff got modernized. I only find out recently the meaning of ghosting. Then BWPH call More Than Friends, Less Than Lover...a ninja. There was a chapter about that in the book but not doing ninja moves as far as I know.

If you really want to pursue and be faithful with God in context in the center of everything, that includes romance. Magloloko ka ba kung naranasan mo ng madapa at bumagsak una mukha once?

#weblog

The Current Situation

written in Tagalog-English

When problem comes, they come like an unknown extended family barging your home and leaving you shock, didn't even know what happened.

While writing this, a typhoon is hitting our precious country. Please pray for the Philippines, we already have casualties and the livelihood of our countrymen is damaged again.

I'm writing this one using my phone, at the comfort of my room with a sibol in the floor. Epic lang, buti nasa isang sulok lang.

Have mercy on me, my God, have mercy on me, for in you I take refuge. I will take refuge in the shadow of your wings until the disaster has passed. Psalms 57:1 NIV

The bottom line of this current situation is humble our selves and take heart to take refuge in Him. The verse above is written by David when he was in trouble and his life is at stake.

I know the situation now compare to David is different, yet it points to the one who is worth entrusting our lives. The life giver Himself, God.

Like what happeed today. As I prepare for the day, umulan ng malakas nung papasok na ako, pambihira! Part of me is naiinis na, but on the other hand, I choose to be grateful kasi may work ako at Saturday work pa nga. Unfortunately due to the pandemic, some lost their jobs.

Kahit basang sisiw pagdating sa opis. My heart is glad running to Him in moments na, alam nyo na. “Lord bakit na naman umuulan! Long weekend ah!”

#weblog

A Background

Nothing significant for this post. It's Friday today and the typhoon is on the way. Also, the long weekend was lessen by a day, instead of a four. Life is unfair.

I'll just tell the background of the former post. I was inspired to write something about romance so I decide to add something from Boiling Waters PH first podcast episode after listening to it. I know it can go deeper pa pero hanggang doon na lang ang kaya ko.

I made an outline for that and think a lot. Everything was written based from my 2 cents, about my faith and as well my experience.

I made the jump without thinking, asked God for help and tried to control it. Call it a laban-bawi. Ayun na nga. For those who know the story. I already move on. God is a sweeter song than everything life can offer.

His sweetness doesn't give you a type-2 diabetes, it's more than natural because He Himself is the only true source of the sweetness itself.

Try listening to this song version from Shane and Shane.

'Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus Just to take Him at His Word Just to rest upon His promise Just to know, “Thus saith the Lord!”

#weblog